Summer Recap

Last November, I was a pressroom intern for the North American International Livestock Expo, talking to people from all over the U.S. There in the photo I was interviewing at work, asking for information in order to write a caption to a sheep show.

Last November, I was a pressroom intern for the North American International Livestock Expo, talking to people from all over the U.S. There in the photo I was interviewing at work, asking for information in order to write a caption to a sheep show.

Summer was long because this summer was full of decisions making and working. The process always feel longer. But this summer was short for that time always flies as usual. It’s gone before you know it.

During the summer, I interned with the College of Media in the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign, where I graduated in May this year. I was putting in around 10 hours weekly designing pamphlets and creating communication strategic plans with my supervisor and two other interns.

I lived on a schedule for two months, leaving for library after lunch around 1 p.m. and staying there until it closed at 5:30 p.m. In four hours, internship work was done and multiple job applications were submitted. At the same time, my mindset was pretty much still very student-like, waiting for the next schedule to come.

Then I was on a job dilemma, homeless. I was homeless for two weeks and stayed with my family, who own a restaurant locally. In those two weeks, I was a waitress in the restaurant. It was a very difficult decision to make because I had to get a car and an apartment within two weeks prior starting to work.

Besides living on a schedule, I was and still am living on a tight budget. In the past five years, I am given too much support from my parents. They are my motivation to start working and become financially independent. Seriously. It really sucks to ask for money after college graduation.

At the end of the summer, I started working but still not earning enough for myself. At the same time, I really enjoy working with the positive and optimistic colleagues in the firm. It’s quite contagious at the same time. Learning is always challenging and fun. However, I am not seeing myself on the career path I thought I would be on.

This morning when I left for work, sunny, I felt the temperature drop. It signaled the end of summer. Winter comes soon. In Illinois, there’s no fall. The seasons are moving on. So am I. Ready for the brand new chapter of my public relations in career, I am doing best to welcome the new opportunity and take a new challenge.

What do you say?

