I have slowly stopped writing about three years ago. I used to make notes of daily life. That slowly became weekly, then monthly, and in the past year   semiannually. This had saddened so much.

My mentality towards writing also has changed. Writing, beyond expressing myself in words, also has become my career and skill. If I continue to stop writing, my career will crumble.

Then I looked back to the days when I write almost daily, in middle school and high school, and wondered why I wrote much more frequently. It was because I read a lot back in the days. I read novels mostly. I read in science classes, the least liked ones. I also read essays for Chinese class. Some are modern essays, some ancient. So I am picking up reading, and writing again!

IMG_2774

How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, by Mohsin Hamid

This book has inspired me to rethink China as a rising middle-class. The story gave me some reader experience I never had before, especially the capability to imagine and characterize the protagonists. Usually a novel gives a set story, where the write determine every and each details. But this one, you can even name them yourself.

Mohsin Hamid also left gaps between different stages of “you,” when you can fill in events for “you” and “the pretty girl,” by which Hamid writes the protagonists. What happened when they didn’t meet? When did he get married? How was his wedding? All kinds of questions you have in mind, and, as a reader, you can create answers for these questions.

This is a novel, a very realistic one. All characters reminded me of certain friends and family members. You may not be a novel fan. If you are interested in the rising Asia and its middle class, this is a good book. It gives you details. I wouldn’t be surprised if this was based on real story and experience. In fact, I think this is a novel of many’s life experience. At the end, Asia means Asia. It doesn’t refer to any specific countries, which even leaves more room for you to imagine and relate to.

Related Blog: Speaking as a rising Chinese middle-class…Hello, Cappuccino

 

To-Read Book List:

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, by Haruki Murakami

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage: Wiki | Amazon

Over the years, Haruki Murakami is one of my favorite author! This is his new book. It came out last year in China. The English version is expected this summer.

I have found the Chinese version in earlier January. But it was only half of the book, which made me really sad for a week. But last week, I have found the complete version of it!

I am planing to finish this book by Monday. I read really fast in Chinese. Murakami is very detail with feelings, especially loneliness. This is another book that describes loneliness. Under his pen, loneliness is always curious.

Two years ago, I read 1Q84. It took me a month to finish the book because it was a little heavy to finish. At the time, loneliness was too much to bear because my grandfather was very sick and passing away. The book was hard to read. On the other hand, it was a LONG story. But I really like his novels and can’t wait to finish this new novel!

While waiting, you can also look for 1Q84. FYI, it’s a LONG story though. It’s composed of three books.
Related Blog: Meant to Be

The Wolf of Wall Street, by Jordan Belfort

Since The Great Gatsby, I have fell in love with Leonardo Dicaprio. In the past three months, I watched many of his recent movies, including the Great Gatsby, Django Unchained, The Departed, and Shutter Island. And I sat through three hours of his new movie, The Wolf of Wall Street, walking out of the theatre completely mind-fucked by the story and his acting skills.

I was once a sales person, and did not like what I was doing. I couldn’t even convince myself in the products. I made no sales and quit before I got a total brainwash. Besides Belfort is really a jerk in this wrongful business, I am interested in his book, wondering how he reviews his past in words.

Wonder if he ever regretted being such a jerk. Oh well.

Or any of the left behind filthy details of his past that weren’t put in the movie? Let’s find out, film VS book!

 

 

Year Zero, by Ian Buruma

I have not learned much about World War II. All I learned as a history major in high school and minor in college was mainly modern history, in 1990s, and  back in to 1800s, and also ancient Chinese history of all kinds of dynasties and regimes.

Hopefully this book will be a good read and fill me in about 1945. So many years before many of us existed and the year when many nations recovered from violence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is your book list? Or any recommendations?

3 thoughts on “To-read Book list!

What do you say?

