Awkwardness in the elevators with strangers, coworkers, and mostly people…

The end of the day for me finally arrived; but my coworkers had to work OT tonight and this weekend.

I walked into the elevator and smiled, then trying to bury my face in my thick scarf as I thought it must be so cold and windy outside.

The Man, in the elevator with me, wearing earmuffs and a cross body messenger bag, greeted me, “how are you?”

I unplugged my earbud from my right ear and replied, “good. You?”

As he was buttoning his black peacoat, “okay. It’s nice out.”

I spent no time and replied with sarcasm, “no, it sucks.”

At 8 a.m. this morning, I got out of the train station when it was windy, snowy and chilly at low 20 Fahrenheit. The rain yesterday had melted most of the snow on sidewalks, and left the surface very moist. As it started snowing in the early morning and the temperature dropped, sidewalks were icy and slippery. I waddled to work, keeping my face down in my grey yarn scarf and holding my hood to keep my ears and head warm from the snow and wind.

20140223-223807.jpg

Chicago at sunset… And, it was nice out.

It is one of the busiest season at the office in the year; I hadn’t had time to step out. I sat in an office in the back of the building, from where the windows faced the back of the other two buildings on the block and valleys. I saw no sun. The glass windows on a higher floor of one building reflected the clouds, blown and moved quickly by the strong wind. So I thought, it must be cold outside.

Therefore, I was pretty convinced that the Man must have been joking.

Our conversation ended as the elevator stopped on the third floor and picked up two more people on their way out of work.

The gate is only 20 seconds from the elevator. I quickly put on my hood and my gloves, preparing to fight the wind and chill. I leaned forward to push the heavy revolving door and saw a woman walking towards me without a coat…

Oh, it’s not that cold any more. No more snow. The Man in the elevator really meant it was nice out.

I turned around the corner and headed west for the train station for home. After a few blocks, I saw the sun and its reflection on the glass skyscrapers and felt terrible about the conversation in the elevator.

He really meant it.

No wonder our conversation ended. But I hoped he had enjoyed that nice day, disregard my wrong sarcasm. It’s really hard to not make fun of Illinois weather. If you’ve lived or visit Chicago especially, you know how quickly weather could change.

What do you say?

